My dad surprised my mom with a compost yesterday. And my mom and I are embarrassingly excited to use it.

its place in the sun, for now

its place in the sun, for now

When I studied in Costa Rica, composting became a natural follow-up to every meal of ours: before we all dropped off our dishes with the week’s dish pandilla, or “gang” of students chosen to man the sinks, we first stopped at three different compost bins designated for different types of food wastes to toss in our uneaten food & food wastes. By the time our plates got to the sinks, they were pretty empty and clean after just a rinse or two. The amount of waste we generated from meals was virtually zero (except for Chiky wrappers…if only those were compostable).

Cold weather and a return to New England has quelled my composting activities, so I’m excited to start again with the onset of spring. I’m trying to convince my parents to convert half our backyard into a fruit/vegetable garden, instead of the tiny corner that our garden is currently in…. fingers crossed that my persuasive powers come through!

guess where these veggie and fruit peels are going tonight.

guess where these veggie and fruit peels are going tonight.

