Have you ever had scrambled eggs haunt your dreams?

food_200504_eggs_400x400

That’s the one thing I’m missing the most right now: eggs. I’m a huge fan of eggs: as part of breakfast, boiled and sliced into lunch, or whenever it strikes my fancy. And I miss them. Last night, I had the most restful, sound sleep that I’ve had in a while: but the image of delicious eggs I’d normally whip up for breakfast was the last thing lingering in my mind before I drifted off.

The hardest part of this is at night. The mornings are wonderful: the fruit/veggie smoothie is divine. Even the lunch one, albeit bizarre, is doable. But I have such a strong mind-mouth connection around dinner time. I felt a little rat like, looking for small things to nibble on for the sensation of nibbling — of biting and ingesting anything solid. I PROMISE I’LL SPIT IT OUT IF I HAVE TO, JUST LET ME BITE SOME SOLID FOOD!  Sipping on my dinner smoothie was definitely the most challenging.

Okay okay, I will admit: the perks are starting to manifest. My body feels AMAZING. I’ve been trying to limit my exercise so I don’t get ravenously hungry and start attacking the fridge like a rabid panda, but I’ve been keeping up my yoga practice as I do most days: and I seriously feel bendier, more flexible, like I’m breathing deeper and moving deeper into every pose. It feels absolutely incredible. Placebo effect? Maybe. But I feel light, airy, and HAPPY during the day. I woke up this morning naturally without needing caffeine. AT 7 A.M…. that never happens. Ever. I’m already seeing the physical and mental benefits of feeding my body nothing except whole, organic fruit, veggies, nuts and antioxidants. Yum.

could do this all day

could do this all day

In between lunch and dinner, I took my dog for a walk and started feeling a little hungry in between. I’m normally a pretty active person, so my metabolism is a petulant, whiny child that kicks and screams if it doesn’t have something to digest every couple of hours. And while I was out there in the invigorating cold, running in the snow with Spike, I forced myself to sit on my favorite bench by the river and just….. sit. Sit with my hunger. Sit with my discomfort. And I couldn’t help thinking: How many people feel this way daily? Every hour? How many people have no clue if and from where their next meal will come? How many people call this hunger and discomfort “every day?”

