“Less is more.”

I’ll give you ten dollars if you’ve never heard that before. In an unfortunate way, the English language falls flat on its face when tripped by this platitude. English speakers are forced to use a phrase or sentence (or furious hand gestures) to describe certain things that other languages already have words for. For example, “Sgiomlaireachd” is Scottish Gaelic for when people interrupt you at a meal. “Shlimazl” is Yiddish for someone who has nothing but bad luck. There’s an amazing list of some more of these foreign linguistic morsels. I know it works both ways, and that the English language probably has a lot of words for things that other languages don’t package into a single word, but these are the ones glaringly obvious to me as a native English speaker.

So here’s one for you, English enthusiasts: I visited Colby again this weekend for the first time in five months — since graduation. And maybe I R IDIOT but I’m struggling to find a word to describe how I felt: 49% like I never went there and 49% like I never left (2% brain/emotion space deleted with hangover). Any ideas?

twilight zone?

